Teacher | Student
Originally produced in: Italy
Also available in: en

4. Euroregion MEDALP


The Alps-Mediterranean Euroregion (MEDALP) consists of three Italian regions (Liguria, Piedmont, Val d'Aosta) and two in France (Rhone-Alpes and PACA, that is to say Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur). The legal status of this Euroregion is the EGCC.

The agreement protocol was ratified in 2007 in Bard, in the Aosta Valley and has been ratified by France in 2008 (Act 352). Italy still awaits for ratification. This Italian delay will ensure that the EGCC headquarters is France.

In fact the way of construction of the Euro-regions is not always linear because it often depends on the political will of powerful groups. The guide of the Piedmont League, for example, is currently slowing down cooperation.

The areas of responsibility of the Euroregion are the exploitation of tourism resources and environmental protection, development of scientific and academic cooperation, transport, labor market and the sharing of administrative procedures in commerce and business management.


  1. Take a look to the map and show:
    • borderlines
    • chief towns for each region
    • other important cities, list them by history and development
  2. Search on the web a map for this area and draw the Euro region perimeter
  3. Why is the EGCC more likely to have its see in France?

Display teacher's view to find the answers.

Description and Analysis

Cooperation actions between frontier French, Swiss and Italian regions are going on since 1982, within COTRAO (West Alps Labour Community). An agreement protocol had already been signed time before, between Rhone-Alps, Provence-Alps-Cote d’Azur, Valle d’Aosta, Piemonte e Liguria, with Geneva counties , Vaud e Valdese.

Since 2006, the French and Italian frontier regions, of Rhone-Alps, Valle d'Aosta, Piedmont, Liguria andProvence-Alps Cote d’Azur have been involved in the foundation of Alps- Mediterranean Euroregion.

On 18th July 2007, Presidents of Alps- Mediterranean signed an agreement protocol concerning the territory Alps Mediterranean, deal that represented the very first step toward the Euro region settlement and organisation, for its evolution in order to form a European Territorial Cooperation Group (EGCC).

The Alps- Mediterranean Euroregion main aim is strengthening ties between citizens, socio-economical actors, administrative institutions, and elected candidates of these five regions, with regard to accessibility, transports, economic growth, innovation and occupation fields. But also with regard to high school education, professional education, life quality, environment, natural risks avoidance, affordable development of culture, tourism, public services, unity and charity.

A Euro region looks forward to encouraging a better management by these five regions, when commonly turning to European territorial cooperation programs, in particular to programs like: Alcotra between France and Italy, Alps e Mediterranean Space. A Euro region takes part to the European and Euro-Mediterranean integration and foundation. A unique see in Brussels allows synchronized action about communitarian lobbying.

The Alps- Mediterranean Euroregion Presidency is organized on a six months rotation system basis.

Geographical/Historical Context

Under an historical point of view, part of this area once was the old Savoy Duchy and became Reign of Sardinia, because of succession Spanish wars. What remains of Provence and Rhône-Alpes went through changing fortunes, but still within territorial French dynamics. Since Renaissance Liguria orbited the Genovese sphere, great maritime power of that period. For the following centuries, the entire region fell and remained under the French control, unless it was annexed to The Reign of Sardinia, as decided during the Wien Convention.

It has to deal, indeed, with a border macro-region, traditionally characterized by mutual influences and by prevailing French and Provence languages.

Under a geographical point of view, this region goes from Alps to Mediterranean Sea, including a wide climate variety. Such a watershed draws a line between France and Italy. The Alps subdivision within the Euro region, on the other hand, includes Maritime Alps, Cozie, Graie e Pennine.

The total surface is about 100.000 km2 and the total population reaches 17 millions.

Under a economic point of view, beside the natural touristic vocation, this territory includes some highly industrialized areas, as, for instance, those surrounding Lion and Turin. Gross national product, with 500 billion Euros, is higher than several other countries. Despite the chemical (Lion), and metalworking industry (Torino) crisis its exportation capacity equals 21 % of total wealth.

Euro region gave itself, as main goals, infrastructures development, especially those linked to tourism, as well as unique administrative procedures simplification and settlement in order to encouraging entrepreneurism.